Skip to content

Q&A

5 May 2010
tags: ,

I would like your opinions.  These are just little knitterly questions that have been swimming around my head…

1.  Do you think I could knit pasties?  And would that too-closely walk the line between sexy and grandma?  Would knit pasties be an etsy shop graveyard or goldmine?

I hadn't thought of hat pasties, but these are so funny!

2.  Have you seen the latest internet craziness, teenagers making haul videos?  I heard a story on NPR about these teenaged girls who go shopping at the mall or Target and then bring their armloads of bags home to their laptop and use their webcam to film a video of themselves showing off their “haul.”  They bring each item one by one out of the bag and explain why they chose it, the positive attributes of the item, and how much it cost–or what a good deal they got.  I thought this was ridiculous, bordering on horrifying… but then I came home after a four-hour-trek to new yarn stores in Hastings, NE, and wanted to show off my loot!  I’ve already burned through most of the stuff from that trip (knit or spun it up, etc.), but I have a nice little mini-haul from a LYS in Fayetteville, Arkansas, still in its bag, and thought perhaps it could be the beginning of a regular feature:  yarn shop haul videos!  What do you think?  Yay?  Nay?  Am I terribly self-centered (not to mention yarn-nerdy) t0 even consider it?

3.  I’m considering a farmer’s market booth later in the summer at our local downtown farmer’s market.  I still have to figure out the cost and decide whether I can make it up, but it’s something I’d really like to do.  I figure I’ll bring Israel (my boyfriend) to handle the money so I can just sit and spin (har har… question in question:  does anyone else find that phrase to be a dirty joke?  i giggle every time i say that…).  What farmer’s market attendee could resist buying yarn from the cute young redhead sitting at a spinning wheel?  Any ideas for gimmicky things like “Here, pick your fiber/colors out of these baskets, and I’ll spin you up a special 20 yard mini-skein of your very own for far more money than it’s worth”?  Anyone have experience with booths like this and whether or not they’re successful?

Tell me what you think puh-LEEZE!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. laura permalink
    5 May 2010 12:03 pm

    I’ve never understood pasties, knitted or not. but I’m sure there’s a niche for them somewhere! Are there any sex shops in Lincoln? Maybe you could sell them locally, too.

    The yarn haul videos actually might be a really great idea. i am not sure i would watch them (except to see your face and hear your voice, because i miss you!), but i know other knitter types would!

    you should totally do the booth. the pick your own is a fab idea!

    (sorry, typing 1 hand – nursing!)

  2. mireia permalink
    13 October 2010 2:33 pm

    Hi!

    I love your idea and I think my boyfriend will like it even more!!!

    thanks!

  3. anni g permalink
    2 November 2010 7:18 pm

    OMG, I loooooove your pasties!! Toooo cute!! Is there anyway I could get the pattern from you? I would love to knit a pair for my friend!!

    • katiness permalink*
      3 November 2010 2:49 am

      *oooh, i just stole that picture of the pasties from the internet! i was thinking of making up a pattern, at the time, but haven’t gotten around to it. i’m sure they’d be super easy! it’s essentially just a hat-like construction on tiny needles with tiny yarn! give it a try! *

  4. Marnie permalink
    13 February 2011 3:17 pm

    Hi! Just thought I would give you some feedback, since you’re featuring my pasties here!

    You can definitely knit or crochet pasties. I’ve actually seen quite a few crocheted pasties lately. However, these were actually made with a pre-knit vintage trim that I sewed into place.

    As for whether it’s an etsy goldmine or graveyard, it’s a little from column A, a little from column B. We had over 6000 views, but only 4 sales. Verdict: a fun project, but definitely not a lucrative one.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

